The library has consistently provided for our campus community access to over a hundred databases of published articles, many scholarly and/or academic in nature. However, databases come and go. Here are two that were more recently acquired.
The full-text Chicago Tribune (Historical-1849-1985), like all our databases, can be found on the Databases A-Z page. It is alphabetically just below the Chicago Tribune-1985-present. The Library also owns all years of the Tribune in microfilm, but there is no index for anything written before 1972, which makes finding earlier articles difficult, especially if you don't know the exact date of an event. With the historical Tribune database, any word from any article, headline, or advertisement can be searched. The database contents are all PDF, yielding printouts identical to the microfilm versions. Faculty, students, and members of the community have all found this database to be a tremendous resource. Surprisingly, for some in-depth research projects, the microfilm version is still preferred.
Credo Reference, our other spotlighted database, offers searchable full text from 240 reference books covering both humanities and sciences, including business, law, languages, and generalities such as dictionaries and thesauri. Just a few of the titles included are Collins Spanish Dictionary, Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures, Encyclopedia of the European Union, and Wiley's Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology. Credo's Reference will be especially convenient when you are working outside of the library and need a quick fact or overview of a topic from a source you can clearly cite and which won't disappear into cyberspace. It can also be found on the Databases A-Z page.